The Wicked will Rise {Review}

“You can’t just cover your eyes and pretend like terrible things aren’t happening simply because you can’t see them,”

-Danielle Paige, The Wicked Will Rise 

This. Book. Blew. My. Mind. 

It blew my mind so much that I don’t want to spoil anything so a plot summary will not be included. Don’t you want your mind blown, too?

Yes, it blew my mind. However, Dorothy Must Die was better but that’s besides the point. This book really made you question reality and you learn so many – SO MANY – things.

Reason One why this book blew my mind. 

This book has such an amazing amount of character development. In the beginning, Amy seems so simple. I went along with the idea of her being simple because well, I thought it was a theme. Simple girls from simple places living in not-so-simple areas. Then all of a sudden, this book slapped me on the face and threw up Amy’s character development all over my pants… in a good way. A lot of the times, I would get mildly frustrated with Amy because of things she did like (SPOILER) pull Pete out of Amy which eventually physically killed people and places as well as mentally killing someone. The reason she did that is because she made a promise to Pete so I respect her and I am also pulling my hair out because of her. Gotta love main characters, amirite? (SPOILER ENDED). I absolutely LOVED LOVED LOOOVED Amy when she was (SPOILER) battling the Lion. This dark magic thingy took control of her body and it was so gruesome, fierce, descriptive, and overpowering that I couldn’t help but scream, “FINISH HIM AMY” out loud. Even though that made people scared of her, it made me fall even more in love with this frickin’ character! (SPOILER ENEDED. Now that I think about it, you probably shouldn’t even read this first paragraph because of spoilers. hehe oops).

Someone else who had a pretty solid amount of character development was Nox. He actually softened up a little and treated Amy more like a person and less like a weapon. Even this tiny amount of character development changed the plot so much, and millions of girls are swooning over this guy. Now I don’t want to spoil too much so (SPOILER) he dies! jk. lol. Actually, many not jk because I haven’t read the third or fourth book. DUN DUN DUUUN.

Reason Two why this book blew my mind. 

I loved how Danielle Paige took stereotypical books and threw them in the trash. My opinion of a stereotypical book is a book with an obvious protagonist and antagonist. Amy Gumm is neither good nor bad. I like this because it’s not a super-easy read meaning that this book makes your brain work out. You have to look past what the author is giving you and wrap your mind around the book in your own way. I absolutely adore that. Not only does Amy have a good and Wicked side, but she’s not afraid of herself. She’s not afraid to use the Wicked magic because it’s a part of her, and she owns it. *Audience Cheers. Beyonce gives a standing applause.*

Reason Three why this book blew my mind. 

The main setting, Oz, is so interesting! Oz is more like a character to me then it is a place. Trust me when I say that you learn so much about Oz in ways you never imagined! I love how Oz has a mind of its own and magic of its own. It adds so much to the plot.

But I never want to, um, go to Oz. hehe.

Reasons Why this book didn’t make my entire mind burst out with over-blowingness. 

Umm, idk about that title but lets roll with it. What I mean is that this book isn’t written very well. It’s a little rushy and I feel like the ending lasted for about as long as a single clap with tons and tons of information. Stuff is being thrown at us like one of those automatic tennis ball throwing machines (I think there’s a real name for them but idk). I have way to many questions about this book which is probably why there is a prequel series with nine books. Also, there is a huge CLIFF HANGER that made me quite upset. WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY.

Warning: Before reading this book, just keep in mind that THIS AUTHOR DOES NOT CARE IF YOU INTERNALLY DIE. She will kill off anything just to make this book interesting, which it does! Sadly, people are sacrificed, and this author does it in a horrible but awesome way. I’m still internally crying.

(not my image)

Leave a Reply

