Cinder {Review}

“Kai cleared his throat. Stood straighter. “I assume you are going to the ball?”
“I-I don’t know. I mean, no. No, I’m sorry, I’m not going to the ball.”
Kai drew back, confused. “Oh well… but… maybe you would change your mind? Because I am, you know.”
“The prince.”
“Not bragging,” he said quickly. “Just a fact.”

-Marissa Meyer, Cinder

♥ Summary ♥

Cinder, the first book of the Lunar Chronicles series, is a science-fiction twist on the classic fairy tale, Cinderella. This story is about a girl named Cinder, who works in her own little mechanic booth. She lives in New Beijing with her two sisters, Peony and Pearl, and step mother, Adri. She doesn’t know who her parents are or where she came from. but she will. She finds out some things that she would’ve never expected, especially once the Lunar Queen comes to New Beijing and tries to get become the Empress for her own devious reasons.

♥ My Thoughts ♥

This book was pretty enjoyable! (I’m just making a bland-ish statement so I can say what I really thing in the conclusion).

I really like the whole idea behind this book. I mean, I loved Cinderella and I love science fiction. This book is perfect for me!

Everything was almost perfect. Almost, as in not quite. Why not quite? Well, there were a couple reasons. One, I didn’t fully understand the parts of writing that had to do with all the metal and mechanical stuff. It was confusing, but that was probably just me. Two, I didn’t really know what Cinder was wearing at times when what she was wearing mattered. For example, when Cinder goes to the ball, it says she’s wearing some sort of fancy slipper boots with a silk dress. Was this dress long sleeved? If it wasn’t then her cyborg arm would’ve probably been wayy tooo obvious. Also, when it says boots all I can imagine are Uggs. Call me basic, go ahead. Third, I wish there was slightly more connections between this book and Cinderella. Like, where is her fairy godmother?? Where’s the midnight thing?

I absolutely loved the characters. I loved Cinder, obviously. She was so awkwardly perfect. I have a special place in my heart for awkward characters. Not only that, but she was also very independent. One example is when the doctors were operating on her because they wanted to find a cure to the plague that was going on, she was very strong and would talk back to the voices she would hear. Another example is when she talks back to her Step-mother when she was mad at her for a reason, a good reason.

“’That you prefer to rule through fear rather than justice? So sorry, Your Majesty, I’m afraid I already knew that about you.’”

I liked Prince Kai, but around the ending I did not. I understand that he acted differently towards Cinder because of the things he discovered, (you will find out if you read the book, please do!) but he was strikingly rude. He did sort of save her life, but still, why did he agree to the Lunars having custody of Cinder? That sounds like a death sentence! Another thing that bothered me about him was that he was still going to marry the Lunar Queen even after he heard that he was basically going to die anyway and a war would still happen. That move made him look very weak, in my opinion. Maybe he just wants to please the people, but he should want to protect all the people’s future’s, not to just keep them happy for a little while.

In Cinderella, both step-sisters are rude and horrible to Cinderella. In Cinder, one of them is actually nice! Peony, the younger one, is sort of a friend to Cinder. They gossip, well, Peony gossips, Cinder listens. They do stuff together, like watch shows. They complain about their mother and step-mother together. I actually really liked Peony. She was fearless. When she got the plague, she was very un-selfish and pushed Cinder away so that Cinder wouldn’t get it. (SPOILER) When Peony dies, I ACTUALLY ALMOST CRIED. It was so sad! I liked Peony too much to let her go. (SPOILER ENDS.)

One thing that I liked about this book was that the characters that you are supposed to hate, aren’t that bad. Why do I like that? Well, in some books, some characters can be created for the readers to hate. If that character ends up being hated too-much by the reader, then the reader may or may not like the book less. Adri and Pearl, Cinder’s Step-mom (guardian) and step-sister, are hated. But they are not hated too much. For example, (SPOILER) when Peony dies, Cinder actually sees them crying.(SPOILER ENDS.) That can make you hate a character less when you see them when they are vulnerable and broken inside. You start to think that maybe their horridness is there because they use it as protection.

“’My only mistake was in waiting too long to be rid of you’, Adri said, running the washcloth between her fingers. ‘Believe me, Cinder. You are a sacrifice I will never regret.’”

♥ Conclusion ♥

Rating: 4.5 cookies (ALMOST 5 COOKIES!)

cookie-monster-birthday-4

This book was really good! Small things like the characters are what kept it from being a 5, but I really liked everything else. Especially the whole idea behind the book. I liked how in it, there were small little mentions of the other books in this series. I heard mentions to Winter and the character in Cress played a pretty big role in the end of this book. I didn’t hear from Scarlet which is why I am so excited to read it!
I actually thought it was Ariel, but I recently figured out it’s actually Little Red Riding Hood. Why the red hair? Maybe it’s part of the sci-fi twist??? IIIIIIDUNNOOOO!

Before you go, here’s a link to a free reading of the book you should read right after Cinder, (Lunar Chronicles #0.5).

CLICK HERE FOR BOOK #0.5 OF LUNAR CHRONICLES (FREE READ)

CLICK HERE TO VIEW THE SUGGESTED READING ORDER OF ALL LUNAR CHRONICLES BOOKS

(Featured Image is not mi-… hey wait, IT FINALLY IS MINE!!!!!!!!)

 

 

Leave a Reply

