Yellow Brick War {Review}

“The world I grew up in is gone, too,” I said quietly. “But that doesn’t mean I’m going to give up on it. Because if you give up—then what is there left to live for?” “Yeah, I know,” he replied.

-Danielle Paige, Yellow Brick War. 

Summary

Amy Gumm—the new girl from Kansas—must do everything in her power to save Kansas, kill Dorothy, and make Oz a free land once more.

In the third book of the Dorothy Must Die series, Amy is caught between two places. Home and Oz. Amy teams up with the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked. She has a mission that leads to much more. She tries to save her home, Earth, restore the balance between her home and Oz, and to seek out a love interest. Oh yeah, and also to kill Dorothy once and for all.

My Thoughts

The first book, I loved, the second book I didn’t love as much, but because I loved the series and the whole idea behind the books, I had hope and I decide to continue reading.

This book, to say the least, slowly became a disappointment. The beginning was pretty good and was a little more relatable because she was back on Earth. It slowly got worse and then just got pretty confusing. Everything seemed rushed, which is not a new thing in these series, especially in the prequels.

I liked seeing old characters like Madison Pendleton, and a few others from the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked. I was thrilled to see The Nome Kind, even if he was very cruel, horrible, and basically a killing machine. A character I quickly fell in love with was Nox. Just listen to this,

“But you know what I liked about it?”
“What?”
“It reminded me of you. Everywhere I looked, I couldn’t stop thinking, This is where Amy’s from. This is the dirt that she walked on. This is the sky that she grew up under. It’s the place that made you who you are. And that’s what made me like it.”

OH MY GOSH LOOOOOOOVE. This Nox was so different from the Nox we knew in the first book. Wowie.

Another thing I enjoyed was all the sharp twists. Things that I would’ve never expected would happen, happened. And everything I thought would happen, didn’t happen. I loved that about this book and it’s probably what kept me from giving it a bad rating.

I could see in the book that Amy was slowly changing because of the shoes she had put on, and even thought it never really said it, It was obvious. I love when books give you enough information so that you can easily guess something, but they don’t tell it to you directly. It makes me feel smart. ahah.

Conclusion

This book was sadly, a quick read with only 288 pages. I find the books getting shorter and shorter, that’s never a good sign. These series started out with so much potential, and such a unique plot that I wasn’t surprised when there were nine prequels.

Because of the rushed feeling, I am taking off a couple cookies, well eating a couple cookies. Because of the fantastic twists and turns in the plot and seeing new character, and the romance, I am adding another star.

Rating: 4 Cookies.

cookie-monster-birthday-4

Thanks for reading this review. I recommend reading the series because of the interesting plot line. I won’t blame you if you don’t finish the series, but I have this rule where I have to finish all the series I start, unless the are 100% unbearable and completely horrible.

-Miss Bookie.

the_wicked_will_rise___dorothy_must_die_book_2_by_elyamsworld-d9pbjr1

soo… I found this AWSOME image. I’m pretty sure the monkey is Lulu, the girl with flowers in her hair is Ozma, the boy above Ozma is Nox, the boy next to Lulu is Pete, the weird thing above Pete is Mombi, maybe? Idrk. The girl above Mombi is Amy Gumm, the girl to the right of Amy is Dorothy, the girl to the right of Dorothy is Glinda who is the twin of Glamora but Glamora doesn’t really use Perma Smile so I think it’s Glinda, the girl below Glinda is, wait who is that? Jellia? The weird thing with the hat is… AHH idk, maybe the Scarecrow? But it’s super creepy. Please correct me if i’m wrong.

This awesome image belongs to elyamsworld on deviantart.com.

 

The featured image is not mine, but serious credits to thereaderbee on tumblr. That picture is really cool.

Leave a Reply

