Scarlet {Review}

“She did not know that the wolf was a wicked sort of animal, and she was not afraid of him.”

-Marissa Meyer, Scarlet

Summary from Goodreads.

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

My Thoughts (THIS IS NOT SPOILER FREE!)

So, Scarlet is Little Red Riding Hood.

I loved how this book tied together. How the puzzle pieces click. How it unfolds like a.. a napkin? All our beloved characters -and new ones- go on their own adventures that eventually bring them all together. We pick up Cinder where we left off in the first book, and we also follow Scarlet and a few others.

I loved seeing just how everything would eventually come together. I also liked that I could tell who’s perspective I was in without the book saying it. That usually means that there are really strong personalities in each character. Something I adore in books.

Whether it’s Cinder from New Beijing, or Scarlet from France, this book is without a doubt, a multi-cultural thrill ride.

Scarlet was a pretty strong, fierce character. I pictured her talking in a french accent 24/7 and I loved it. It was really enjoyable. She stood up for her beliefs and was passionate about saving the lives of her loved ones. I mean, she is 1/4 Lunar.

Wolf is introduced to us around the beginning. At first, Scarlet thinks he’s sketchy for good reasons. Later on though, you will start to see some romance in between these two characters. Wolf was  very mysterious in the beginning. I LOVED IT. Mystery is often a very good thing to add to a book, even if it’s not a mystery book. It keeps the readers minds engaged.  Eventually, she goes on an adventure with Wolf to save her grandmother.

Scarlet’s grandmother is actually being held hostage by these creatures. These creatures are humans that appear to be a wolf pack. I’m going to be honest, I didn’t really get this part of the book. It was kind of confusing. I’ll try to explain it the best I can.

The pack has Alpha’s and Omega’s, like any normal wolf pack, except they aren’t normal. They are all humans that were genetically motified and toyed with in order to create a Teenage-Mutant-Ninja-Turtle. Sorry, not Turtle, Wolves. Teenage-Mutant-Ninja-ish-Wolves. That seems legit. These wolves started out as innocent little humans from the moon, Luna, but Queen Levana turns them all into wolves when they turn 12. She’s basically creating armies for herself. There are many packs, and each pack has a Thaumaturge that leads them with their minds. So the wolves aren’t exactly controlling their own minds, their minds are getting controlled. Levana tells all her packs to search for Princes Selene. One of the packs (Wolf’s pack) captures Scarlet’s grandmother because they believe she has information about the princess. Yeah, that’s about all I know for the most part. I feel like if this part of the book was less confusing, I would of liked the book a little more than I did, (which is already a lot).

Wold is part of this pack, however, he is different. He’s strong, yes. He’s an alpha, yes. He has had the genetically modified operation to turn him into a wolf-mutant, yes. But, he also cares. When he meets Scarlet, he cares that she saves her grandmother. He actually saves her life one time in the book. He is a little sketchy, and because of the operation, we never really know when he is going to turn into a wolf and bight someones head off. Nonetheless, Scarlet loves him deep down. When Cinder and Throne told her to leave him behind and that he was too dangerous, she insisted on taking him with. Now that, that’s love.

Scarlet’s grandmother had a child with a Lunar person back when she was driving an aircraft to moon and back. That means, Scarlet’s dad is 1/2 Lunar and therefore, SCARLET IS 1/4 LUNAR!! Idk why I made that sound like a good thing… I don’t exactly know if that makes Scarlet a fugitive or not. The reason why the wolf gang wanted Scarlet’s grandmother in the first place was because they believed she had information about the Princess. Apparently, she did but that part was confusing to me and idk why or how she knew stuff about the princess. Later on when they no longer care about getting information about the princess, they figure out that Scarlet’s grandmother can not be controlled by the Lunar’s powers. They don’t let her go because they want to run test and stuff like that, but when they realize there is no way to find out how they can’t get into her head, they kill her.

Meanwhile, Cinder is escaping prison (the place where we saw her last in Cinder) with a man named Throne. Thorne seemed kind of cocky and sort of like a player when we first met him, but deep down we could see that he truly cared. He ends up having a pretty special relationship (not a relationship, just like, two friends) with Cinder. One of the reasons that I ended up liking him was because one, I could tell that he is going to be the “prince” character in Cress, and second, well, he’s just a really fun character with a cool personality. You’ll understand if you read this book. Cinder decides not to tell him that she’s the princess, and instead, the two climb aboard a stolen ship and start searching for Michell Benoit. Scarlet’s grandmother. You see how it all ties together?? Once again, this part confuses me. I don’t entirely understand why they want to find Michelle Benoit, but I believe that it’s because Cinder wants to find someone with answers about the princess so that she too, can understand. Once they find Michelle’s location and find out that she’s now dead, they meet Scarlet.

Then action happens. A lot of action. Oh also, we find out that Cinder is actually pretty strong with her Lunar gift. Around the end , we start to see what the third book is going to be like. And let me tell you, I can’t wait till it comes out! Err, it already did. I can’t wait till the someone in the library turns it in SO I CAN CHECK IT OUT.

Conclusion

My oh my oh my oh my. THIS BOOK. I love the mystery, action, characters… Stars, I LOVE EVERYTHING. Well, except for some confusion with the plot and everything. All this mixed in a bowl gives this book this rating.

Rating: 5 Cookies

imgres

I decided not to take any points off about the confusion, because honestly, Lunar wolves? AWSOME. I think it was the strong characters and the absolutely electrifying ride that gave this book a rating of 5 cookies by me.

If you haven’t read this book yet, read it. Also, if you haven’t read this book yet, what are you doing here? This is a spoiler review. SHOO!

-Miss Bookie

Guys, this is beginning to be a problem. Every time I write a review, I have a sudden craving for cookies.

~Featured image is not mine Credits to “Floating in Dreams” on WordPress.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

