Illuminae {Review}

“You have me. Until every last star in the galaxy dies.

You have me.”

-Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, Illuminae

Summary from Goodreads

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do. This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

My Thoughts (THIS IS A SPOILER REVIEW).

Okay, first of all, this book is beautiful. Everything about it. The pages, the cover, the pages. 

As Goodreads puts it, “Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more.”

What do you mean, “more”?

oh. aha.

This book it so cool. There are so many things packed into this book. Romance, action, horror. OHMIGOSHILOVEDIT. It’s one of the most unique books i’ve ever read. It’s… It is mindblowing. I chose the book because of the way it looked, I didn’t even know what it was about, I just chose it.

And thank god I did.

At first, I was a little intimidated by the book because it’s very long (599 pages!) and there are a lot of technical languages in there that I don’t really understand. I have to admit, the beginning was good but I often mixed up names and I was a mess. Around the middle to the end, it got really good for me.

 

 

So Kady. I loved Kady. She was such a strong, cool, independent character. She was also really funny. When her mother died, I could feel the waves of tears rolling off of her. I could tell that all the hate and sadness in her was being loaded into a gun and she was soon going to use it. I just loved her. The characters in the book are so special to me. Like the person that writes down what he sees in the video footage collected from the ships. They are so funny. The way they explained things made me laugh. They weren’t a character, but they still had personality. Idk if it was a he of a she, which is why I sad they to describe them if you haven’t noticed.

I’m not sure if this is a weird thing to like, but I liked the way the authors described sadness and all the negative feelings. When they were describing crying scenes, you could literally see that person crying.

“And then she started gasping for breath. Short, sharp, hoarse breaths, like she couldn’t drag in enough air, her whole body shaking. Some people, when they lose it, they scream, they fight. I hope that would be me. Martha just slowly slid down off her chair and folded in on herself… and suddenly she was crying. Long, low moans that sounded like they were wrenched out of her. All her grief and pain in those noises, like her body couldn’t hold it in any longer.”

I love the conversations between Kady and Ezra on text message. They would use all the shortcuts and emoticons like “:P” and “:)”. IT WAS SO CUTE and AWSOME. That’s truly the number one thing I admire about the book. The 100% unique formatting.

One time, Kady literally sent this to Ezra,

“_     -(“)-  baaaaaa”
%%%%
  //    \\

Not only do I love Kady and her messages between Ezra via text, I also love the character Ezra. He’s pretty chill. He gets worked up easily, but you can tell he really cares about Kady, his dad, and his friends. When he gets worked up, he just needs simple support. Also, he’s hilarious.

“Interviewer: So. Tell me about your mother.
Ezra: You’re taping this, right?
Interviewer: Audio only. Camera is faulty.
Ezra: Okay, well for the benefit of the sight-impaired, I am now raising my… oh, dear… yes, it’s my MIDDLE finger at Mr. Postgrad here.
Interviewer: Mr. Mason…
Ezra: Now I’m wiggling it.
Interviewer: Terminating interview at 13:58 on 03/19/75.
Ezra: Look at it wiggl-
-audio ends-”

Okay, so on the ship there’s a deadly virus that when it affects someone, it turns them into this Zombie that is filled with the need to kill. They are so creepy and are surely one of my favorite things about this book. They would seem kinda cuckoo, and if a healthy person would look at them, they would look at you with their big red eyes and would scream “DON’T LOOK AT ME” in what I’m guessing is to be a demon voice.

So there’s this system called AIDAN that is programmed on the ship Alexander to protect the people, it goes haywire and ends up killing a lot of people. In the book, the system actually has dialogue, and it can be really creepy at times. It was describing how he was killing the people by opening the doors so the virus gets in and such, and the system kept on repeating

“Am I not merciful?”

tumblr_o99h6amobk1tbgqkqo1_500

Yeah, soooo anyway, Kady jumps onto the Alexander in order to save Exra. He got moved onto the Alexander and in their message conversations, he’s trapped. She runs around looking for him everywhere, she ends up having to kill a lot of nice people that are now not-so-nice because they’re affected with the disease. Lots of action, drama, and horror there. When she can’t find Ezra, she discovers this, EZRA DIED A LONG TIME AGO WHEN THE ENEMY SHIP LINCOLN ATTACKED SO THE WHOLE TIME KADY THOUGHT SHE WAS TALKING TO EZRA, IT WAS REALLY JUST AIDAN PRETENDING TO BE EZRA. If I wasn’t reading that part in my classroom, I probably would’ve cried. Kady was ruined, I was internally ruined. She collapsed, I internally collapsed. It was so smashing. Is that the right word? I don’t think I will ever find the right word to describe this.

Obviously, Kady hates AIDAN now. Just look at this conversation,

“Um, because you’re loopier than Flacky McPsycho, Mayor of Crazytown?”

“My databases show no record of this Crazytown of which you speak. A brain the size of an entire city burns inside me. My intelligence quotient is beyond the human scale. I would prefer if you did not refer to me in such a fashion.”

“Oh, poor baby. Did I hurt the mass-murdering psychopathic artificial intelligence’s feelings?”

AIDAN ends up “falling in love with Kady” and he tells her that in order to save the 1,097 people on the Alexander that are not affected with the virus, she has to stay with him. She saves most of the healthy, unaffected people and gets them onto the Hypatia, the second refugee ship. She, however, sacrifices her life and stays with AIDAN. On the Alexander, she also single-handedly defends herself from Lincoln invaders. Not only did she do that that, but she also defended herself from the infected people trying to break open her door and kill her. (Btw, the part when the infected people are almost about to break in and they communicate with her, that part is one of the most creepiest parts of the book. I LOVED IT.)

The ending was actually and ending. It also lead into a little more so that the second book int he trilogy, Geminae, would have a nice start.

The question is this. Is Ezra still alive? And what is his psycho mother going to do?

Conclusion.

THIS BOOK. I don’t know how to describe it in a way that will make you fall in love with it like I did, I think you just have to read that for the loving part to happen. The least I can do is show you some of my favorite quotes.

This is something that the readers originally thought was Ezra messaging Kady, but it ended up just being Ezra’s friend trolling Ezra.

“since i will not send this, i also feel it is my duty to inform you that almost six months on I think I still love you and that makes me sad becaue love shouldn’t feel this way. is like getting kicked in the stomach every time i think of you and it makes me want to roll my face across this keyboardbiu;///ubEWdcfhugiov’byhi;.//////-=‘-0i9juh8ygtfdcsaazs34defg7uefg7u8hi9o0p8hi9o0p-[[09ju8dcsaazs34d9o0p-[[09.”

This…

“Ezra: And then I said it.
Interviewer; What did he say?
Kady Grant: He said, ‘You picked a hell of a day to dump me, Kades.”

 

Ooh, this! This is AIDAN talking about Kady

“She is catalyst.
She is chaos.
I can see why he loves her.”

Rating: 5 cookies

imgres

I’m getting tired of saying “This book is so good”.

This collection of paper with black and white letterings, is solid, satisfying, high-quality, peachy book. Read it, please.

-Miss Bookie

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

