I Am Number Four {Review}

“Those things that are the most obvious are the very things we’ve most likely to overlook.”

-Pittacus Lore, I Am Number Four

Edit: Okay, after reading over what I wrote, I realized that I forgot this was a lower lexile book and should’ve been more forgiving, but to poop with lexiles.

Goodreads Summary

Nine of us came here. We look like you. We talk like you. We live among you. But we are not you. We can do things you dream of doing. We have powers you dream of having. We are stronger and faster than anything you have ever seen. We are the superheroes you worship in movies and comic books–but we are real.

Our plan was to grow, and train, and become strong, and become one, and fight them. But they found us and started hunting us first. Now all of us are running. Spending our lives in shadows, in places where no one would look, blending in. We have lived among you without you knowing.

But they know.

They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They killed them all.

I am Number Four.

I am next.

Duh duh duuuuuh. (Okay, it didn’t actually say this but I thought it was appropriate).

My Thoughts *You will never be free of Spoilers*

Before we start, I found this excellent explanation by a Goodreads reviewer that explains basically everything. Look at that, you won’t even need to read the book!

“Alien hides out in small town, alien falls in love with human girl, alien goes to party with human girl, party escalates, house starts burning, alien saves human girl from flames (said alien is resistant to fire), alien tells human girl about true identity, human girl has no trouble at all accepting this, alien and human girl lie to police about rescue that should have been impossible, nasty reporter dude gets suspicious of alien and fishy rescue story, chapter ends with reporter dude yelling after alien ‘I will find the truth! I always do!’ (I couldn’t find the rest so I guess I’ll take over) Alien returns to school thinking nothing is wrong. Alien finds out he is found. Alien eventually meets up with school bully-turned-nice, best friend, girlfriend, dog, and guardian as they fight off the evil aliens. Alien number six meets up with them to help. More and more evil aliens come and it seems impossible for the protagonists to win. But then, all of a sudden, alien’s dog turns into a dragon and fights the evil alien beast. The dog dragon appears to be losing, but then the main character alien saves the day by killing the beast. However, his alien guardian gets hurt very badly, and dies. Now, Alien main character is left all on his own with alien number six, and he has to bring himself to leave his human best friend and human girlfriend. At least he gets to keep his dog.

I don’t really know how to organize my thoughts on this book review, so I’m just going to blurt out stuff…

Much like Lore did in this book. I don’t mean to sound rude, but the writing is very choppy. It may not sound like too big of a deal, but choppy writing equals confusing…ness. Confusingness. It’s hard to get into the book because the writing sounds like someone is choking on water while trying to tell a story.

The story just didn’t make sense. I like the concept behind it, but too much fantasy and too much science fiction means your readers can’t relate. I didn’t understand the concept with the Guardian thingies, and why they’re powerless but train the species with the power?? Also, why are the kids protected by a charm that only allows them to be killed in order? Number one must’ve been pretty fed up with that charm.

A lot of the details and explanations get lost. When the main character would have his flashback things, it was hard to tell what exactly was happening. A lot of the action scenes were confusing, also. A lot of the times, I had no idea where the characters were.

The book is too darn predictable. The bully jock and pretty used-to-be-popular girlfriend. Hah, been there done that. (Um, I’ve never actually been in that situation, but hey, it’s a saying). Well, some of it was surprising, like the legacies and seeing number six, but it wasn’t jump-out-the-chair-and-scream sort of surprising. Just a, “oh, that’s interesting,” kind of surprising. Ya feel?

THE CHARACTERS. *Shudders*. Not trying to be mean or anything, but they kinda sorta SUCKED. The main characters name is JOHN freaking SMITH. I’m not hating on any John Smiths out there, but main characters in books should have more interesting names.

“Hey, remember Harry Potter?!” “haha omg yeah!”

“Hey, remember John Smith?!” “Umm, you mean the guy in Pocahontas?”

It’s just not a memorable name. Also, Sarah, John’s girlfriend, is just plain boring. She used to be a cheerleader but nooo, now she’s going to be ‘nice to people’. First of all, cheap shot at cheerleaders. Also, she had no dimensions to her whatsoever. I would much rather see John in a relationship with Number Six but I didn’t feel any romantic tension in there, (Well, I also didn’t feel any romantic tension between Sarah and John, but whatever), it’s like they were cousins or something. Darn it.

The only remotely interesting character is Sam, John’s best friend. His hilarious French-speaking mother that for some reason seemed to never be there, his dad that got abducted by aliens apparently, him being completely shy and crushing on Natalie, a friend of Sarah’s. He’s pretty cool, props to Lore.

Conclusion

Rating: 1 Cookie

url

I’m not saying I hate it.

I’m just saying bad characters, confusing plot, choppy writing equals a mildly okay book. Hey, at least it didn’t get a zero.

Also, I’m not hating on Lore. I’m sure James Frey, oops, errr… I mean, LORE. I’m sure Lore is a good author, it’s just that this is the only book I’ve read by them, so it’s the only thing I have to judge them by. Maybe the other six books will be better. I have hope!

(Featured image is not mine)

~Miss Bookie

Leave a Reply

